DDT “WHAT ARE YOU DOING 2012”, 24/06/2012
Tokyo Korakuen Hall
1,517 Fans – Super No Vacancy

1. Yasu Urano, Antonio Honda & Keita Yano defeated Hikaru Sato, Keisuke Ishii & Tetsuya Endo when Hoda pinned Tetsuya Endo with the Diving Fist Drop (10:54).
2. Iron Man Heavymetalweight Title – Battle Royal: Tsukasa Fujimoto (c) defeated Danshoku Dino, DJ Nira, Gorgeous Matsuno, Hoshitango, Akito, Gota Ihashi, Hiroshi Fukuda, Choun-Shiryu and Tanomusaku Toba (10:00).
2a. Hiroshi Fukuda defeated Tsukasa Fujimoto (c) with a Belly-To-Back Suplex (2:33).
*Hiroshi Fukuda becomes the 916th champion.
2b. Tanomusaku Toba defeated Hiroshi Fukuda (c) with a Buzzsaw Kick (4:56).
*Tanomusaku Toba becomes the 917th champion.
2c. Tsukasa Fujimoto defeated Tanomusaku Toba (c) with a School Boy (5:16).
*Tsukasa Fujimoto becomes the 918th champion.
Iron Man Heavymetalweight Title: Choun-Shiryu defeated Tsukasa Fujimoto (c) by Pinfall (12:35 pm).
*Choun-Shiryu becomes the 919th champion.
3. Special Single Match: HARASHIMA defeated Shigehiro Irie with the Somato (8:44).
4. GM Army Vs Dissidents: Sanshiro Takagi, Takao Soma, Hero Amon & Yoshiaki Fujiwara (w/ Katsuji Nagashima) defeated Michael Nakazawa, Kenny Omega, Batten Tamagawa & Tomomitsu Matsunaga when Takagi pinned Nakazawa with the Sit Down Himawari Bomb (8:34).
5. KO-D Tag Team Title: KUDO & Makoto Oishi (c) defeated Masa Takanashi & Daisuke Sasaki when KUDO pinned Takanashi with the Diving Double Knee Drop (13:16).
*V1 for KUDO & Makoto Oishi.
6. KO-D Openweight Title: Kota Ibushi defeated Yuji Hino (c) with the Phoenix Plex (21:12).
*Yuji Hino fails in V2. Kota Ibushi becomes the 42nd KO-D Openweight Champion!

The Golden Star has completed his climb back to the top of DDT! After a 20 minute battle with the K-DOJO powerhouse Yuji Hino, the KO-D Openweight Title is now around the waist of Kota Ibushi for the second time in his career. Ibushi dug deep and defeated Hino with the Phoenix Plex, a move Ibushi had only previously used once before against HARASHIMA at Sumo Hall back in 2009. Now he waits for the KING OF DDT 2012 winner to meet him in Budokan Hall.

Or maybe not. Someone had to come in and spoil the party and that someone was DJ Nira. As Ibushi was celebrating with his title belt, DJ Nira stepped into the ring and told Ibushi that he is not the only person who is eligible to compete in the main event of Budokan Hall. Nira showed his “Right To Challenge Anytime, Anywhere” contract to Ibushi, shook his hand and then left the ring. Will Nira really cash it in at Budokan Hall?

This defeat continues the recent bad period Yuji Hino has had with championship matches. Not only has Hino lost the KO-D Title and the KO-D Tag Team Title, he also lost the STRONGEST-K Tag Team Title earlier this month in K-DOJO. Just goes to show how fickle a pro wrestler’s fate can be.

The nWJ shocked everyone when the fourth man turned out to be Yoshiaki Fujiwara! Tsurumi Amon could only watch on helplessly while his team were getting destroyed by Sanshiro Takagi and his group. After the mtch, Amon considered quitting his role as DDT General Manager. However, Katsuji Nagashima stepped in and encouraged Amon to stay in the job. With the war against Tsurumi Amon seemingly won, Takagi now gets to focus on his upcoming match against Minoru Suzuki in Budokan Hall. Takagi asked Fujiwara to coach him for the time being and Fujiwara accepted the offer.

Takagi was then joined in the ring by Masayuki Sato, the editor in chief of Weekly Pro-Wrestling to announce a special issue of the magazine will be released during the run up to the big show to celebrate DDT’s achievements.

A special opening video will be created for DDT’s 15th Anniversary show. DDT will be teaming up with manga artist Yoichi Takahashi, the creator of the famous football series Captain Tsubasa to make an animated video to open up the big event. If my translation is correct, the video will be about the DDT roster playing a game of football that leads them over to Budokan Hall. So imagine those Nike and Addidas advertisements but with Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo replaced with Danshoku Dino and Michael Nakazawa.

Tensions are mounting between HARASHIMA and Shigehiro Irie. Even though HARASHIMA won the latest match between the two, they continued fighting after the bell. Fans won’t have to wait long for their next encounter as you will see below.

The joshi tour is over for the Iron Man Heavymetalweight Title. Now it is going over to China. Tsukasa Fujimoto was able to make it to today’s show despite losing the belt yesterday to Tsukushi in Ice Ribbon, who then lost it to a ring mat. The title then went back to Fujimoto and after a few more title changes she survived the Battle Royal as champion. At least until Choun-Shiryu snuck up on her, pinned her and then ran off with the belt.

That wasn’t the only story coming out of the Iron Man Title match. Before it began, video footage was shown of Danshoku Dino entering a bar owned by former DDT and Toryumon wrestler Toru Owashi. Dino met with Owashi and pleaded him to return to DDT. Owashi refused and kicked Dino out. The Battle Royal would then be interrupted by further video footage of Owashi looking depressed over his decision. Owashi’s mother slapped some sense into him and off he went to Korakuen Hall. When Owashi finally arrived, everyone in the ring gave him a Rocket Punch. Owashi then announced he will return to the DDT ring at Budokan Hall.

MIKAMI will return to action at DDT’s next Korakuen Hall show on 22nd July. DDT is also hoping to bring in Tatsumi Fujinami.

The lottery to determine the first round for KING OF DDT 2012 was held at the end of the show. The matches are as follows:

Tomomitsu Matsunaga Vs Masa Takanashi
Kenny Omega Vs Daisuke Sasaki
Michael Nakazawa Vs Hikaru Sato
Shigehiro Irie Vs HARASHIMA
Keisuke Ishii Vs Takao Soma
KUDO Vs Antonio Honda
Yasu Urano Vs Makoto Oishi
Akito Vs Danshoku Dino

No unexpected match-ups there. Each of the pairings are very familiar with each other by now. Akito was quick to leave a message on Twitter saying as much as he admires Dino, his goal is to win the tournament not just as a DDT wrestler but as a Sportiva Entertainment wrestler too.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: